Changes to Kanopy Video Streaming

Beginning 12/18/2019, the Kanopy video streaming resource now only allows unlimited streaming for the titles that the library has paid an annual license for.  The previous model of unlimited streaming for all titles was not financially sustainable. We are hopeful that the new model still allows easy access to the most highly demanded and requested films used by our faculty, staff, and students in support of the course curriculum.

When you access the Kanopy homepage, all the titles you see in the categories section are videos we currently have licensed and are instantly streamable. Simply click on the title you wish to stream and then click on the play button:

kanopy1

In addition, anyone can submit a purchase request for any title that we don’t currently have licensed.  Submitting a request does not guarantee that we can purchase the title; however, we will try and honor requests based on the needs of the requester and the current library budget.

Requesting a title is easy.  When you encounter a title we currently do not have licensed, fill out the form and click the “Request Access” button:

kanopy2

You will receive a submission confirmation via email. A librarian will follow up with you within 48 hours to update you with the status of your request.

Do not hesitate to Ask Us if you have any questions regarding Kanopy or if you encounter any issues with access and/or streaming.  We are happy that we can continue to provide access to this popular and useful resource!

So Many Databases!

At a recent local consortium gathering, a librarian lamented that students would wait for 20 minutes for a cup of Starbucks, but wouldn’t want to spend that much time searching library databases.  Another librarian commented it might be because searching was not as rewarding or gratifying as getting a cup of coffee.  You waited for 20 minutes and you got your coffee.  You searched for 20 minutes, you got frustration!  There are so many databases to search and so many tricks to learn!

Yes, “so many databases” is a mixed blessing.  There is an instinctive demand for metasearch tools, which search multiple databases simultaneously through one interface.  The term, metasearch is also sometimes referred to as cross search, federated search or broadcast search etc.  Popular commercial metasearch engines include Ex Libris’s MetaLib, Serials Solution’s 360 Search, WebFeat, etc.  Google Scholar is probably the most convenient free metasearch engine that searches both the open and deep web (such as licensed databases).  To learn how to search JSRCC library collections through Google Scholar, please check  http://teach.jsr.vccs.edu/library/googlelib.doc.

Our users can also conduct metasearches through MetaLib which groups databases by disciplines.  To access MetaLib, go to the Library Catalog (VCCSLinc) at http://vccslinc.vccs.edu/F/?func=find-b-0&local_base=jsrcc.    Click on Databases once you get in.  You will be required to provide your MyJSRCC login. 

However, metasearching is not the almighty solution to the stress caused by ‘so many databases.”  First of all, it’s not hard to understand that a metasearch is not going to be as powerful and sophisticated as a native search on each individual database.  An even more serious problem is that it’s not exhaustive – you will yield much more results with native searches.   This is particularly true of Google Scholar.  Therefore, a metasearch will not replace a native search for its thoroughness.  However, a metasearch is definitely a convenient first stop.